contact | site plan | legal information  
Welcome !
ELPE-Musique Editions
Rental catalogue
  Full orchestral scores and performing materials
  Gaspare SPONTINI
  Antonio SACCHINI
  C. M. von WEBER - H. BERLIOZ
Sale catalogue
Rental catalogue : J. OFFENBACH / J-P Penin

Nuits Parisiennes - Suite for orchestra - 2004-2006

Nuits Parisiennes (2004-2006) Jacques Offenbach - Jean-Paul Penin 

Jean-Paul Penin recaptures Offenbach's most famous and enjoyable themes in his orchestra suite, Nuits Parisiennes. In the Thirties, Manuel Rosenthal had already assembled some of them in his suite La Gaieté Parisienne, sometimes using only very short fragments with an imposing orchestration. For his own suite, Nuits Parisiennes, which lasts about fifty minutes, Jean-Paul Penin has taken a completely different approach. The themes have been arranged to form eleven structured ensembles with waltzes, galops, and polkas, not forgetting a march and a minuet. Some of the ensembles in this suite could very easily be an original concert overture, or a brilliant "encore". The orchestration pays tribute to that of Offenbach and his contemporaries. It also valorises some of the orchestra soloists: flute, violin and viola.

- First performed on 16/12/04 in Milan, at the Verme Theatre by the Pomeriggi Symphony Orchestra.

- Repeated on 14/05/06 in Oaxaca, Mexico, Humanitas Festival-Alliance française

There are two versions of this suite:

  • Reduced orchestra : 2222 / 221 / timp. - 2 perc.  / harp / str.
  • Full orchestra: 2222 / 223 / timp. - 2 perc. / harp / str.
Editions ELPE-Musique, 23 bis rue du Commandant Blin 58290 Moulins-Engilbert France
Tél./fax : (33) 03 86 84 31 23